Gaunt second after first round of 2011 Porsche Carrera Cup Australia

  • Motorsport news
  • 2011 Porsche Carrera Cup Australia
  • First round results and 2011 race schedule

Gaunt's Porsche 997 Porsche Carrera Cup australia

Australia is hosting one of the greatest automotive events of all time, the 2011 Formula 1 Qantas Australian Grand Prix. This Grand Prix marked the return of the Porsche Carrera Cup Australia, which hasn’t raced in Australia since 2008.

New Zealand’s Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge champion Daniel Gaunt has taken two second placings and a fourth at the weekend’s opening round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Australia to sit second overall in the 2011 standings.

The first of seven rounds in the re-inaugurated series, Gaunt languished in the pre-race qualifying at the Formula 1™ Qantas Australian Grand Prix weekend before climbing back to championship contention in the Seek Porsche 997.

Starting from fourth spot for the series opening race, he finished fifth in what would be the 26-year-old’s lowest point of the weekend. Surging to third in the opening lap of the second race, fortune fell further in his favour to finish second.

Again on the front-row for the final eight-lap support category race to the Formula 1 opening round, Gaunt finished just behind former champion and now series leader Craig Baird.

“We certainly had some good pace – on a par with Bairdo, which we weren’t at the beginning of the weekend. So I’m pretty happy with that; we couldn’t ask for a better weekend given just over a week ago we weren’t doing any of this. We took delivery of the car on Monday so we had a lot to learn and do in a short space of time. During the weekend we got the fundamental setup changes heading in the right direction and the results just got better,” said Gaunt.

“In qualifying we should have been a little higher up on the grid, but as a team we just didn’t get it all together. Although that’s the benefit of working with an established group, as a team Triple X Motorsport pulled together and I can’t thank the guys enough. Ian McNabb, Adam Fisher and Todd Bickerton – I don’t think I’ve seen them work so hard, and just on one car. As well as Seek – the online job search network, Bob Forbes at MPD Dairy Products, Shane McKillen and Michael Morton – for making it all happen.”

“We’ve still got a lot more to do to keep our campaign going, but I’m sure it’ll be easier after such a good result first up. As long as we keep working hard I’m sure we can carry it forward to an even better result.”

Returning to New Zealand in the interim, the Triple X Motorsport team will fly to Perth in Western Australia at the end of April for the series second round at Barbagallo 29 April to 1 May. Joining the team’s line-up will be Hamilton based Ant Pedersen.
Race results:

Position Car NO Driver Team Time
Race 1
1 7 Jonny Reid McElrea Racing 15:28.2
2 1 Craig Baird Dutton Insurance Racing 15:29.0
3 12 Steven Richards Laser Racing 15:30.5
4 60 Mark Skaife L’Oreal Men Expert 15:31.4
5 27 Daniel Gaunt Triple X Motorsport 15:31.7
Race 2
1 1 Craig Baird Dutton Insurance Racing 15:58.7
2 27 Daniel Gaunt Triple X Motorsport 16:08.4
3 12 Steven Richards Laser Racing 16:09.3
4 20 Ben Barker Team BRM/Total 16:10.0
5 60 Mark Skaife L’Oreal Men Expert 16:10.2
Race 3
1 1 Craig Baird Dutton Insurance Racing 16:04.4
2 27 Daniel Gaunt Triple X Motorsport 16:06.0
3 12 Steven Richards Laser Racing 16:07.8
4 60 Mark Skaife L’Oreal Men Expert 16:10.1
5 29 Michael Patrizi McElrea Racing 16:10.5

2011 Porsche Carrera Cup Australia race schedule

Round Date Circuit Location Winning driver
1 24-27 March Victoria (Australia)Albert Park Street Circuit Melbourne, Victoria Craig Baird
2 30 April–1 May Western AustraliaBarbagallo Raceway Perth, Western Australia
3 8–10 July QueenslandTownsville Street Circuit Townsville, Queensland
4 16–18 September Victoria (Australia)Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit Phillip Island, Victoria
5 6–9 October New South WalesMount Panorama Circuit Bathurst, New South Wales
6 21-23 October QueenslandSurfers Paradise Street Circuit Surfers Paradise, Queensland
7 2–4 December New South WalesHomebush Street Circuit Sydney, New South Wales

The following teams and drivers have competed in the Championship.

Team No Driver
Dutton Insurance Racing 1 New Zealand Craig Baird
Tinkler Motorsport 5 Australia Nathan Tinkler
Skye Sands 6 Australia Rusty French
McElrea Racing 7 New Zealand Jonny Reid
29 Australia Michael Patrizi
Twigg Motorsport 8 Australia Max Twigg
Hallmarc Racing 9 Australia Marc Cini
10 Australia Michael Loccisano
Money Choice Motorsport 11 Australia Matthew Coleman
Jim Richards Racing 12 New Zealand Steven Richards
INCA Motorsports 17 Australia Ray Angus
Andrew Barlow Motorsport 18 Australia Andrew Barlow
Nexus Racing 19 Australia Damien Flack
Team BRM 20 United Kingdom Ben Barker
Triple X Motorsport 27 New Zealand Daniel Gaunt
Supabarn Motorsport 47 Australia Theo Koundouris
69 Australia James Koundouris
Jocaro Motorsport 51 Australia Ross Lilley
Smollen Motorsport 56 Australia Shane Smollen
Porsche Cars Australia 60 Australia Mark Skaife
Racing Incident 66 Australia Peter Hill
01 Motorsport 88 Australia Simon Middleton

Leave a Reply